Getting to know Paul


What’s your background?
I am from Charles County, Maryland. I attended law school at Florida Coastal School of Law where I focused on criminal law. I wanted to be a lawyer because I’ve always been interested in the criminal justice system and wanted to be a part of it.

What is your role at Amara?
At Amara, I am a staff attorney with a focus mainly on our Maryland cases, however, I do take cases in the District of Columbia and Virginia.

How long have you worked at Amara?
I have worked at Amara since February of 2017.

What’s your favorite part about working at Amara?
My favorite part is our work environment. The team works with numerous community partners, collaborating to make life better for survivors of sex trafficking, and those whose rights have been violated through commercial sex.

What other causes besides people’s rights being violated during commercial sex are you passionate about?
I’m also passionate about free legal services being available to all.

What’s your favorite part about working/living in DC?
I grew up 30 miles outside of DC so my favorite part of living in DC is being around my friends and family. My favorite part of working in DC is being a part of the DC legal community. It’s a great sense of accomplishment to go from day trips into the city with school, friends, and family, to being employed as an attorney within the city.

What do you do when you’re not at work?
When I’m not at work, I enjoy spending time with friends and family. I love following Washington sports teams. Skateboarding, fishing, and my girlfriend kept me on an even keel throughout law school, which has naturally flowed into my life as an attorney.

If you could travel anywhere in the world where would it be and why?
If I could travel anywhere in the world, it would be to Switzerland because of its quaint cities and picturesque mountains.

Recent Posts